Samuel Pepys Award Trust

The Samuel Pepys Award was established by the Club in 2001 as a biennial prize given for a publication that, in the opinion of the judges, “makes the greatest contribution to the understanding of Samuel Pepys, his times or his contemporaries in the interest of encouraging scholarship in this area and advancing the education of the public in his works”.  It was first presented in 2003 to mark the centenary of the Club and the tercentenary of Pepys’s death. 

Winners are presented with £2,000 and a specially commissioned medal designed by Philip Nathan in memory of Robert Latham, the co-editor of the definitive 11 volume edition of Pepys’s diary.

We welcome submissions from publishers and authors whose publications fit the criteria above.  The next Award will be made in 2021 for works published between 1 July 2019 and 30 June 2021.  Please contact Professor Will Pettigrew for further information:

The Award winner 2019:

Stanford University professor and author David Como won the Samuel Pepys Award 2019 for Radical Parliamentarians and the English Civil War (Oxford University Press). Click here for the 2019 Award release.

Previous winners

2003 Claire Tomalin: Samuel Pepys: The Unequalled Self
2005 Frances Harris: Transformations of Love
2007 John Adamson: The Noble Revolt
2009 David Davies: Pepys’s Navy: Ships, Men and Warfare 1649-1689
2011 Michael Hunter: Boyle: Between God and Science
2013 Henry Reece: The Army in Cromwellian England 1649 – 1660
2015 Paul Slack: The Invention of Improvement: Information and Material Progress in                            Seventeenth-Century England 
2017 John Walter: Covenanting Citizens: The Protestant Oath and Popular Political Culture in the                  English Revolution


Paul Gray (Chairman & Secretary)
Paul Campion (Treasurer)
Sir David Latham
Susan Mitchell
Robin O’Neill


Sir Keith Thomas CH
Professor Eamon Duffy
Lady (Caroline) Sandwich
Robin O’Neill

Samuel Pepys Award Trust, Registered Charity no 1089570